BIG Thoughts Midweek: Need. Want. HAVE.


Sometimes, as I tick through the pages of fashion blogs and social networks, I become overwhelmed. I often express concerns and confusions relating to my blog title, but I realize I often go against my ‘mission’ as well. Sometimes I characterize a fantasy/want item as a needed thing – to clarify: I believe there is a stark difference.

I love fashion. I love costume. I love the illusion of freedom it allows those of us with office jobs and responsibilities, those of us living in places which don’t suit our imaginations or our mind’s eye view of ourselves in the world. I love the way garments and accessories can define a lifetime, a movement, an idea. The way these identifiers can trigger the memory and senses is so powerful that yes, I’ve spent much of my 30 year’s brain power collecting, examining, and using them.

I need very little. Ultimately I want more for others than I could ever conceive of for myself. And what I have, although I’m always having to remember I’ve forgotten this, is more than my share of enough.

That really is the whole point of this thing here: to examine the things I’m drawn to in the world, and determine my thoughts about them, my gut responses – responses and feelings I’ve identified as needing, wanting, and having.

Dare I use fashion as a platform to examine these thoughts and ideas?

                                                           Yup, I most certainly do.

I guess part of this blog is an experiment in bringing my simpler rudimentary morals into my fashionable NY life. How does one do that? Who knows. I see bloggers in rural settings, posed in ideal outfits among trees and parkways, making high-end (or at least certainly not free) fashion look right at home in their own small towns. Should we dress to suit the fantasy of what we think we need, who we think we are? Or should we dress to suit the actual environment we’re in? Here I am, in NY, working in a setting hardly conducive to my more bohemian antics but finding it impossible to remove myself from my dreams, from my instincts to dress as if the adventure of my life has only just begun. As usual this confusion could sprawl on forever – so I’ll just push pause right HERE.

Below is a quote which brings much of these theories to light, clearly and without apology. Enjoy:

“Nothing makes economic sense unless its continuance for a long time can be projected without running into absurdities. There can be ‘growth’ towards a limited objective, but there cannot be unlimited, generalised growth.

It is more than likely, as Gandhi said, that ‘Earth provides enough to satisfy every man’s need, but not for every man’s greed.’ Permanence is incompatible with a predatory attitude which rejoices in the fact that ‘what were luxuries for our fathers have become necessities for us’.

The cultivation and expansion of needs is the antithesis of wisdom. It is also the antithesis of freedom and peace. Every increase of needs tends to increase one’s dependence on outside forces over which one cannot have control, and therefore increases existential fear. Only by a reduction of needs can one promote a genuine reduction in those tensions which are the ultimate causes of strife and war.”

-E.F. Schumacher

XO

Leave a Reply

