Chocolate Chip Mandel Bread Recipe w/ Marmy


I’ve been saving this recipe for a rainy day, and let me tell you- with sleet  and snow on the NYC radar tomorrow, there’s no better time than the present!

During my January visit to LA I was lucky enough to get a baking tutorial from my Marmy. She recently redid her kitchen and now has a queen of all things cooking & baking workshop! The kitchen lets in great light, has a chorus of birds just outside its windows and is a generally wonderful place to be! Enjoy!Farmer’s market spoils my mom art designed and photographed  to spark my winter-frozen spirits. And now – on to the Mandel Bread!

  • 1 c. sugar
  • 1 c. oil
  • 4 eggs
  • 3 c. flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 8 oz. nuts (optional)
  • 12 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips

In a large bowl, mix sugar, oil and eggs. Then add flour, baking powder and vanilla; mix well. Add nuts and chocolate chips. Shape into 4 thin loaves. Bake at 325° for 35 minutes. Take out of oven and cut into diagonal slices. Then roll in cinnamon and sugar mixture. Put back in oven for 45 minutes at 250°

Marmy makes the following tweaks to make hers EXTRA delicious:

  • 8oz of Almonds
  • Mini Semi-Sweet dark Chocolate Chips
  • Burbon Vanilla

Marmy uses almonds instead of the usual walnuts and adds a hefty pinch of cinimmon before grinding them to a fine powder using a coffee grinder.

Brilliant.

 

Ya I still lick the leavins, what of it?!

Leftover cinnamon and sugar can be used for cinnamon toast and cinnamon/sugar topped hot coffee! Num, num, num, num, num…

More treats from the workshop 🙂Had such a blast enjoying some winter sunshine in good ol’ Cali-for-nai-aye! I’m now crawling back into my coat as I endure the last of East coast winter standoff.

If you try the recipe let me know, they’re a family favorite and are relatively foolproof! My mom is the sweets & treats MASTER, not to mention an expert at all things savory- an all around great cook!

xo

Leave a Reply

